Tuition and Fees Exemptions

South Plains College participates in the following tuition and fee exemption programs to allow students access to higher education regardless of personal resources:

 

Early High School Tuition Exemption

The early high school $1,000 tuition exemption was created by the Texas Legislature for Texas residents who have attended high school only in Texas and who have graduated from a public high school in no more than 36 consecutive months prior to September 1, 2005.  The exemption does not cover fees, board or housing costs. This exemption can be utilized for college-level and remedial classes as well as continuing education classes that receive state formula funding.  There is not a time limit for the use of the exemption. In order for a student to receive funding, the student's high school must send the appropriate documentation to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). The Coordinating Board will notify South Plains College of the student's eligibility. You may access an application at http://www.collegefortexans.com The contact person at THECB is Sheryl McGlory, who can be reached at (512) 427-6323 or via email at Shery.Mcglory@THECB.state.tx.us .  After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.


 

Early High School Tuition and Fee Exemption Program

The early high school tuition and fee exemption program was created to provide a tuition and fee exemptions of $2,000 to students who graduate from the recommended or distinguished high school curriculum in no more than 36 months.  Students who graduated on the higher curriculums in no more than 41 months may qualify for a $500 tuition and fee exemption.  Students must have attended high school only in Texas, be a Texas resident and have graduated from high school on or after 9-1-2003. Qualified students may receive an additional $1,000 on their exemption if they have completed 15-30 college hours while in high school. This exemption will pay any college fee or tuition cost; but does not cover room, board, books or supplies. The Early High School Tuition and Fee exemption may be used for college-level and remedial classes as well as continuing education classes that receive state formula funding. This exemption may not be utilized for enrollment during any summer session immediately following the person's graduation from high school. Mid-term graduates may use the award for summer; but anyone graduating after January is considered a spring graduate and cannot use the award until fall. This benefit must be used within 6 years of high school graduation unless the student is granted a hardship extension. In order for a student to receive funding, the student's high school must send the appropriate documentation to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The Coordinating Board will notify South Plains College of the student's eligibility. You may access an application at http://www.collegefortexans.com The contact person at THECB is Sabrina Salazar, who can be reached at (512) 427-6328 or via email at Sabrina.Salazar@THECB.state.tx.us .  After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.


 

Certified Educational Aide Exemption

The Certified Educational Aide Exemption was created by the Texas Legislature to provide a tuition and mandatory fees (other than special course fees) exemption for students enrolled in classes leading to teacher certification with an ultimate goal of reducing the teacher shortage in Texas. To qualify, a student must be a Texas resident, have one year of employment as a teacher's aide in the past five years or have substitute taught 180 days in the past five years, currently be employed with an ISD in some capacity, complete the FAFSA form, have a financial need and meet SPC satisfactory academic progress requirements. If students do not show a financial need according to the FAFSA form, students may submit their current year tax return in an attempt to qualify by the Adjusted Gross Income method. In order to obtain an application, please log onto the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board web-site at http://www.collegefortexans.com.In order to receive funding, the student should submit his or her FAFSA and Certified Educational Aide Exemption Application to the Financial Aid Office for processing.


 

Foster Care Exemption

The Foster Care Tuition and Fee Exemption was created to exempt eligible students who were in foster care from all tuition and fees (except building use or general use fees). South Plains College exempts qualified students from all tuition and fees for college-level, remedial and continuing education classes. Students applying for the exemption should provide the Admissions and Records Office with official documents from the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services. After eligible students have registered for classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester. In order to qualify, students must have been in foster care or other residential care on or after:

  • The day preceding the student's 18th birthday;
  • The day of the student's 14th birthday, if the student was also eligible for adoption on or after that day;
  • The day the student graduated high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma.

An eligible student is exempt from tuition and fees if he or she enrolls in an institution of higher education as an undergraduate student no later than:

  • The third anniversary of the date the student was discharged from foster or other residential care, the date the student graduated from high school, or the date the student received the equivalent of a high school diploma, whichever date is earliest;
  • The student's 21st birthday.


 

TANF Exemption

The TANF exemption was created to exempt eligible students from tuition and fees for up to one year. In order for the student to receive funding, the student must supply the Admissions & Records Office with a copy of their TANF certificate showing the receipt of benefits for at least 6 months during their senior year. After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.

In order to qualify students must have:

  • Graduated from a public high school in Texas;
  • Successfully completed the high school attendance requirements;
  • Been receiving financial assistance under Chapter 31, Human Resources Code for not less than 6 months of their senior year as a dependent student.
     

Students must also be:

  • Younger than 22 years of age on the date of college enrollment;
  • Be registered with Selective Service or be exempt from this requirement;
  • Enroll in college within 12 months of high school graduation;
  • Begin using the exemption within 24 months of high school graduation; 
  • Be classified as a Texas resident.


 

Fireman Exemption

The Fireman exemption was created to pay tuition and only special course fees for students enrolled in fire science courses. An eligible student must be employed as a fireman by any political subdivision of the state of Texas. The exemption will not pay for courses that are not part of the fire science curriculum. Interested students should provide the SPC Registrar's Office with proof that they are employed as a volunteer or paid fire fighter and they are enrolled in a fire science curriculum. The institution where the students are enrolled defines the course content of a fire science program. After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.


 

Blind or Deaf Exemption

The Blind or Deaf Exemption was created to exempt eligible students from all tuition and fees, including fees for correspondence courses, and all student service fees except fees charged for room, board, books and clothing. This exemption does not cover tuition and fees for individual continuing education courses; however, it will cover a continuing education program that enables the student to earn a license or certificate. A deaf or blind person who is a Texas resident is entitled to exemption from the payment of tuition and all fees at any public institution of higher education if he or she presents a certification of blindness or deafness from the Texas Rehabilitation Commission, Texas Commission for the Blind or Texas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. An eligible student should also possess a high school diploma or GED certificate. Eligible students must also be registered for Selective Service or be exempt from this requirement. In order for a student to receive funding, the student must supply the Admissions and Records Office with a copy of their blind or deaf certification. After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.


 

Children of Disabled/Deceased Firemen and Peace Officers Exemption

The children of disabled/deceased firemen and peace officers exemption was created to exempt eligible students from all tuition and fee charges, except fees charged for room, board and clothing for up to 12 semesters or sessions. An eligible student is one whose parent was employed as a fireman, peace officer, game warden or an employee of a correctional institution; and has suffered an injury resulting in death or disability, sustained in the line of duty according to the regulations and criteria then in effect governing his or her place of employment. Eligible students should be Texas residents; and be registered for Selective Service or be exempt from that requirement. Interested students should contact Angela Crowder at the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (1-800-242-3062 ext. 6344 or Angela.Crowder@THECB.state.tx.us to request a packet for the program. If the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approves the exemption, a letter will be sent to the Registrar's Office at SPC indicating the student's eligibility. After eligible students have registered for their classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester. 


 

Texas National Guard Tuition Assistance Program

The purpose of the Texas National Guard Tuition Assistance Program is to provide an exemption from the payment of tuition, not including fees, to active drilling members of the Texas National Guard, the Texas Aid Guard, or the State Guard. Students must be registered with the Selective Service or be exempt from this requirement and be a resident of the state of Texas. Individual awards are for the student's tuition up to 12 hours in a semester. If a student enrolls for more than 12 hours, another source other than this program must be used to pay for the additional hours. Applications are available by calling (512) 465-5001 or writing to:

Education Officer
State Adjutant General's Office
P.O. Box 5218/AGTX-PAE
Austin, TX 78763-5218.


Students should contact the Business Office for questions concerning the payment of their bill in relation to this program.

 

Clinical Preceptors Exemption

The purpose of this program is to provide partial exemptions from the payment of tuition to eligible persons employed as clinical preceptors and to their children in order to encourage the preceptors to continue their employment and induce others to seek such employment in the state of Texas. Eligible students shall be exempt from the payment of up to $500 tuition per term.

Interested students should visit www.collegefortexans.com for an application. Students applying for the exemption should provide the Financial Aid Office with the Clinical Preceptor exemption application and a copy of the Clinical Preceptor Agreement. Students must submit a new application every semester. The Clinical Preceptor Agreement only has to be submitted one time. After eligible students have registered for classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.

To receive this exemption, a preceptor must:

  • Be a resident of Texas.
  • Be a registered nurse.
  • Be serving under a written preceptor agreement for the term in which the exemption is sought.

To receive this exemption, a student must:

  • Be a resident of Texas.
  • Be the child of a clinical preceptor, who is serving under a written preceptor agreement for the term in which the exemption is sought.

Eligibility for this program ends when the student has:

  • Received exemptions under this program for 10 semesters or summer sessions at any institution higher education.
  • Received a baccalaureate degree.


 Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff Exemption

The purpose of this program is to provide exemptions from the payment of tuition to eligible students to encourage their parents to continue employment as professional nurse faculty or staff members in the state of Texas. Eligible students shall be exempt from the payment of tuition. Interested students should visit www.collegefortexans.com for an application.

Students applying for the exemption should provide the Financial Aid Office with the Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff Exemption application and a letter from the SPC Human Resources Office verifying current employment. Students must submit a new application every semester. The employment letter from Human Resources only has to be done once every academic year. After eligible students have registered for classes, they should notify the Financial Aid Office immediately if they wish to use their exemption for that semester.

To receive this exemption, a student must:

  • Be a resident of Texas.
  • Have not been granted a baccalaureate degree.
  • Be enrolled in an institution that offers an undergraduate or graduate program in professional nursing.
  • Be the child of an individual who holds a baccalaureate, masters or doctoral degree in nursing.
  • Be enrolled at the same institution at which their parent is currently employed or contracted with as a nursing faculty or staff member.

Eligibility for this program ends when the student has:

  • Received exemptions under this program for 10 semesters or summer sessions.
  • Received a baccalaureate degree.

 

 

 


 Last Published 8/8/10